Sri Bagh Agreement

On November 16, 1937, the leaders of the two regions met in Sribagh, the home of Kashinathuni Nageshwara Rao, famous owner of the media, founder of Andhra Patrika and Amrutanjan. The committee considered the conditions to be met if Rayalaseema were to cooperate with coastal districts to claim an Andhra province. This agreement was called the Sribagh Pact or the Sribagh Agreement. This was an agreement for the development of the Rayalaseema region on an equal footing with the coastal areas and to reach consensus among all regions before the formation of Andhra province. The President of the Organization for the Protection of Democratic Rights, Mayakunta Srinivasulu, said that the allocation of river water was a key issue that, despite an agreement that Rayalaseema would retain the same quantity and priority in the allocation of irrigation water, has not been resolved. On 1 October 1953, the state of Andhra and Kurnool became the capital of the new state, under the terms of the Sri-Bagh Pact between the leaders of Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema. The agreement was that if the High Court were created in Coastal Andhra, the capital would be in Rayalaseema, but the people here were betrayed and both the capital and the high court set up there, he noted. Several grassroots organizations and leaders of the Rayalaseema movement organized a Dharna on Saturday at the city`s Tower Clock Centre to obtain provisions due to Rayalaseemas` sribagh agreement between Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra on November 16, 1937. The signatories of the agreement were K. Koti Reddy, Kalluri Subba Rao, L. Subbarami Reddy, Bhogaraju Pattabhi Seetharamayya, Konda Venkatappyya, Pappuri Ramacharyulu, R.Venkat Naidu, H. Seetharama Reddy`People may confuse the agreement of Sri Bagh and gentleman. While the Sri-Bhag agreement exists between the leaders of Coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema, the gentlemen`s agreement exists between Andhra and the leaders of Telangana.

In 1956, when the states were reorganized according to the language, it was proposed to telugu-speaking persons in Hyderabad State to merge with the state of Andhra. The heads of state of Hyderabad were concerned about the merger, so the Gentleman`s Agreement was signed on 20 February 1956 at Hyderabad House in New Delhi under Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru to protect the rights of the Telangana region. Since the acquisition of South India by the British at the end of the 18th century, Andhra had merged with the state of Madras. When the Andhra movement began, the leaders of Coastal Andhra insisted on supporting Rayalaseema`s leaders to strengthen the problem. But Rayalaseema`s leaders were not prepared to walk hand-in-hand with the coastal guides, as they had their own doubts about the development of their region. On November 16, 1937, the leaders of the two regions met in the house of Kashinathuni Nageshwara Rao, a well-known media owner known as Sribagh. That is why this agreement became known as the Sribagh Agreement. [1] The Sribagh Pact is an agreement between the political leaders of the coastal regions of Andhra and Rayalaseema during the separate Andhra on 16 November 1937.